Singapore lifts travel ban from 10 African nations amid Omicron wave

Singapore lifts travel ban from 10 African nations amid Omicron wave

Singapore has announced the upliftment of the travel ban imposed on 10 African countries due to the widespread prevalence of Omicron recently. The federal authorities meanwhile suspect a rapid doubling of cases in the forthcoming days.

As per credible reports, the Singapore government has placed passengers arriving from African countries like Eswatini, Botswana, Malawi, Lesotho, Namibia, Mozambique, Ghana, Zimbabwe, Nigeria and South Africa, with a travel history within a span of 14 days, under Singapore’s Category IV border measures.

As per sources, the Ministry of Health (MoH) stated that in the coming days they expect more local and rapid doubling of coronavirus cases due to the fast transmissibility of Omicron.

However, the MoH further claimed that the country can avoid disrupting the healthcare system and the peak of the wave can be blunted if all the citizens do their bit in fighting against the virus.

It has been reported that citizens have been requested to take self-regulatory tests, booster doses, self-isolate themselves if tested positive to diminish the spread of Omicron.

Reportedly, Singapore’s MoH has declared to have taken all the necessary measures to protect the citizens against the novel coronavirus variant. The people infected with Omicron will be treated at the community care facilities based on their clinical presentation.

According to reports, the passengers traveling from the African countries must take a PCR test two days prior to travelling to Singapore and also, after arriving at the Singapore airport. Furthermore, passengers will have to serve a 10-day quarantine period at a dedicated facility and post that, they will be tested again.

It has been speculated that in a single day, Singapore had recorded 546 confirmed cases of Omicron out of which 443 were imported and 103 local infections.

Source Credit:-